Anyone who knows me knows that I love baking more than most other things in this world. Especially on a nice, cold snowy day, whipping up a batch of sweets is the perfect way to pass the time. So when we recently starting carrying San Fransisco-based Tcho chocolate, I knew I had the perfect excuse to try out some new recipes. Categorizing themselves as “New American Chocolate”, they wowed us at the Fnacy Food Show with their out-of-the-box chocolate bars (my favorite, which we now carry, is the Strawberry Rhubarb Pie Bar). Along with a couple of other bars we carry two of their baking chocolates- a milk and a bittersweet.

Being an avid baker, I had to take some home to “test out their quality” (like I’ve said before, sometimes this job is just so hard). I took home half a pound of each (and later had to return for more of the milk. As it turns out, the milk chocolate baking discs make a great snack, too). I used the milk chocolate discs along with our Rochefort Fleur de Sel butter to make a batch of salted chocolate chip cookies that were insane. Fresh out of the oven, they were soft and gooey with a hint of salt- and the milk chocolate discs melted perfectly in the thin cookies. (I used the dark chocolate discs in a ganache for a peanut butter banana cake, which I will write about soon.) Below you will find the recipe, and I hope you will find the Tcho chocolate just as outstanding as I did.

PS- And with the holidays coming up, you may want to consider giving some Tcho baking chocolate as a gift. Coming from a baker, I can tell you that they will be a welcome present!

Salted Chocolate Chip Cookies

Salted Chocolate Chip Cokies

Ingredients:

  • 4 ounces Rochefort Fleur de Sel Butter, at room temperature
  • 2/3 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg, at room temperature
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon flaky sea salt or kosher salt
  • 1 1/3 cups Tcho Milk Chocolate Baking Discs
  1. Beat butter, brown sugar & granulated sugar together until creamy
  2. Beat in egg & vanilla until incorporated
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda & salt
  4. Stir flour mixture into beaten butter mixture until combined, then fold in baking discs
  5. Cover & chill batter until firm (preferably overnight)
  6. To bake cookies, preheat oven to 350, line 2 baking sheets with parchment
  7. Scoop cookie dough into 3/4″ rounds, place on sheet and press down to flatten
  8. Bake for 12-15 minutes until golden brown
  9. Remove from pan and let cool on wire rack
  10. Enjoy!

Caitlin

