In this line of work we encounter all sorts of cheeses, and it is a rare occasion when a cheese leaves me completely baffled. But a classic Norwegian cheese called Gjetost (pronounced yay-toast) was able to do just that. This culinarily confusing “cheese” is a result of boiling a combination of (goat or cow + goat) whey, milk & cream for hours, until the milk caramelizes, resulting in a dense, brown, sweet product. It comes packaged in adorable cubes wrapped in red plastic and mysteriously named “Ski Queen”. Fudgy and and toasty, many people enjoy slicing it and melting it on bread, or including it in a cheese dessert course.

Gjetost

Having tried Gjetost for the first time about a year ago, I can say that I still don’t know how I feel about it. The firm, brown appearance combined with the sweet, milky flavors is certainly interesting and had me going back for seconds just to figure out what was happening on my tastebuds! I have never encountered a cheese before where upon tasting it, I couldn’t tell if I liked it or not. Above all else, I feel confident describing this cheese as divisive- some people love it, and some people hate it. So for you cheese connoisseurs out there who feel like you have tried every crazy cheese under the sun, I highly recommend you try Gjetost!

-Caitlin

