Anyone who has known me for more than 5 minutes knows I have a serious sweet tooth. And anyone who has known me a little longer knows I love Baltimore and finding products made around here. So it is a great day for me when I stumble across something that is both sugary and locally made. It is an even greater day when said product is deliciously addictive, as well. Which is why June 18th, 2012 was a wonderful day, when I was first introduced to Zoe’s Chocolate Co. at the 2012 Fancy Food Show. Zoe’s Chocolate is based in Frederick, Maryland, and has an interesting back story that is rich with tradition and innovation. The company’s namesake & owner, Zoe, is part of the third generation of an entire family of chocolatiers. Their line of chocolate bars & truffles combine the classic qualities of old world chocolate making with fresh & creative twists on flavors.


Some of you out there are probably dubious about just how “fresh & creative” chocolate can really be. I mean chocolate is chocolate, right? It may be delicious, but how innovative can you really be with such a classic treat? For those of you feeling this way, I urge you to just try a box of Zoe’s Assorted Truffles & get ready to have your mind blown. Their truffle flavors range from Spiced Pear Walnut to Sesame Tahini Crunch to Dionysus Baklava. As a seasoned chocolate eater, I am not wowed by much, but these truffles definitely got me hooked. They also have an excellent line of chocolate bars as well, including Zoe’s Sports Bar, Cappuccino Bar & Raw Bar (all of which we carry).

If you’re looking for a gift for anyone who likes chocolate, both the truffles & the bars make great presents- they are just as visually appealing as they are tasty.

Caitlin

